List of PSU in India

PSUs in India



April 13, 2024

  • A government-owned corporation, government-owned enterprise, statutory corporation and a nationalised company in India is Known as a public sector undertaking (PSU) or a public sector enterprise.
  • These companies are wholly or partly owned by the Government of India or one of the many state or territorial governments or both together in parts.
  • The company stock is majority-owned by the government in a PSU.
  • All Psu’s in India are registered under Section 8 of Companies Act, 2013 (erstwhile Section 25 of Companies Act, 1956)..
  • PSUs in India are also categorised based on their special non-financial objectives
  • PSUs are classified as central public sector undertakings (CPSUs, CPSEs) which are wholly or partly owned by Government of India
  • State level public sector undertakings (SLPSUs, SLPSEs) which are wholly or partly owned by state or territorial governments.
  • Public Sector Units (PSUs) can be classified as Central Public Sector Enterprises (CPSEs), Public Sector Banks (PSBs), or State Level Public Enterprises (SLPEs).
  • Ministry of Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises are administered CPSEs all CPSEs .
  • The Department of Public Enterprises (DPE), Ministry of Finance is the nodal department for all the Central Public Sector Enterprises (CPSEs).
  • Just 5 Enterprises in the public sectors are there in India in 1951.
  • but in March 2021 this had increased to 358.
  • These enterprises represented a total investment of about ?16.41 lakh crore as on 31 March 2019.
  • The total paid-up capital as of 31 March 2019 stood at about ?2.76 lakh crore.
  • CPSEs have been earned revenue of about ?25.43 lakh crore during the financial year 2018–19
  • According to data on october 2021, there are:
    • 11 Maharatnas
    • 13 Navratnas
    • 73 Miniratnas (divided into Category 1 and Category 2)