Scheduled language indian language image

Scheduled Languages in India



July 20, 2024

  • India is a linguistically diverse country with a multitude of languages spoken across its various regions.
  • In India there have many language approx. 780 but only 22 are scheduled in Indian Constitution.
  • According to Indian Constitution 8th Scheduled there have only 22 Scheduled Language in India.
  • All these 22 languages are widely spoken in different states and are official languages in different states.
  • The Constitution of India recognizes and safeguards this linguistic diversity.
  • As a result, there is no single “scheduled language” in India.
  • Instead, the term “scheduled languages” refers to languages that are included in the Eighth Schedule of the Indian Constitution.
  • There were 22 scheduled languages in India.
  • These languages are:
    1. Assamese
    2. Bengali
    3. Bodo
    4. Dogri
    5. Gujarati
    6. Hindi
    7. Kannada
    8. Kashmiri
    9. Konkani
    10. Maithili
    11. Malayalam
    12. Manipuri
    13. Marathi
    14. Nepali
    15. Odia
    16. Punjabi
    17. Sanskrit
    18. Santali
    19. Sindhi
    20. Tamil
    21. Telugu
    22. Urdu
  • Each of these languages is recognized and protected under the Constitution of India, and they have their own unique scripts and cultural significance.
  • Hindi, in the Devanagari script, is the official language of the Indian government, and English is also used for official and administrative purposes.
  • It’s important to note that in addition to the scheduled languages, India is home to thousands of other languages and dialects spoken by various ethnic and linguistic groups.
  • The linguistic diversity in India is one of its defining characteristics and contributes to the country’s rich cultural heritage.